Design for Textiles Winners

Multiple prizes awarded at the Bradford Textile Society Design Competition

Back To News

The Bradford Textiles Society has announced the 2020 winners of their annual design competition and we are delighted to announce that we won an amazing six awards and 11 prizes across various categories. If this wasn’t good enough we were also presented with some Special Awards, and the good news kept on coming with Heriot-Watt University, School of Textiles and Design, receiving the ‘Designers Guild Plaque’ for outstanding work.

The prizes included:

Best Design using Wool – awarded by the Company of Merchants of the Staple of England

Flora Johnston – 1st prize
Elizabeth Alexander – Commendation

The British Wool Award – celebrating the beauty and sustainability of wool

Annabel Le Gall – 1st prize

The Cloth of Kings Medal – celebrating artisan craft and silk using noble fibres

Elizabeth Alexander

The Campaign for Wool Award – a woven or knitted textile design that celebrates the beauty and sustainability 

Annabel Le Gall

The Clothworkers Company Award – 1st year students for printed textile design

Jane Gray and Rachel Simpson – Commendations

The Clothworkers Company Award – knitted design for fashion or interior 

Evie Brownlee – Commendation

The Clothworkers Company Award – woven fabric design for fashion 

Lucy Gray – Commendation

The Clothworkers Company Award – woven fabric design for interior or furnishing

Kaitlin Murdoch, Alice Milivoyevich and Lauren Tucker – Commendations

The John Smedley Ltd Award – 1st year students knitted fabric design 

Tessa Richardson – 1st Prize
Katie Fry – 3rd Prize
Lara Dawson – Commendation

Prestigious Textiles Award – textile design for domestic upholstery drawn in repeat

Helen Laurenson – 3rd Prize
Kayleigh Adam – Commendation

The CIWMT Award – textile design suitable for children’s fashion or interior

Claire Kennedy – Commendation